TOP READS OF 2018

If you know us, then you know that my mom and I read … a lot. That said, putting together our list of favorites from 2018 wasn’t easy, but we did it! And if you’re curious as to what we’re reading in 2019, please check us out on Instagram respectively (Emily and Robin)

Girls Burn Brighter by Shobha Rao

One of 2018’s most renowned titles; this debut novel is, in a word, unforgettable. Set between India and Seattle, is a tale of female friendship that is intense, harrowing, and honest.

Friday Black by Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah

Read. This. Book. With the launch of this debut, Adjei-Brenyah claimed his place as one of the most important voices of today’s generation.

Gateway to the Moon by Mary Morris

A truly fascinating story that explores a fictionalized account of what happened to the Jewish descendants of the Spanish Inquisition, who ultimately settled New Mexico. Lyrically written and an extraordinary read.

 Number One Chinese Restaurant by Lillian Li

This delicious debut novel tells the story of one family through the lens of their restaurant. Equal parts wry and poignant, this is a multi-generational story unlike any other.

Witness: Lessons From Elie Wiesel’s Classroom by Ariel Burger

Told in the vein of Tuesday’s With Morrie, Burger’s longstanding relationship with author and activist Elie Wiesel lends itself to this truly astounding account of knowledge and understanding. You will not read anything like this, this year or beyond.

 Gross Anatomy by Mara Altman

A hilarious and authentic collection of short stories that examines the author’s relationship with her body, which might just inspire readers to have a little more compassion for their own.  

 Suicide Club by Rachel Heng

A dystopic-ish debut novel unlike any other imagines a world not total dissimilar from the one we live in today, where human organs are the new commodity. We’ll leave it at that.

Good and Mad by Rebecca Traister

From one of the most trusted, thoughtful, and impeccably researched voices of our time, Rebecca Traister has given readers the book to better understand women’s anger and how it effects change.

White Houses by Amy Bloom

If history class had been as interesting as Amy Bloom’s book I might have paid better attention. History was surely made as Eleanor Roosevelt’s “first friend” and prominent female reporter Lorena Hickok takes up residence in the white house.

The High Season by Judy Blundell

The quintessential summer read filled with entertaining, well-drawn characters, and location, location, location! In this her first adult novel, Blundell leaves the reader hoping there will be a second.

A Cloud in the Shape of a Girl by Jean Thompson

Three generations of Wise women are the heart of this gorgeous novel. The fascinating thing about a story centering around the generations is seeing the ways in which a family evolves and in the same breath how little changes. 

Invitation to a Bonfire by Adrienne Celt

There’s nothing like an intriguing love triangle to keep the pages turning and this stunner by Adrienne Celt will do just that. Part psychological thriller, part historical fiction and all parts compulsively readable.

Providence by Caroline Kepnes

In Providence you’ll find it all: love story, mystery, the supernatural and best of all the very definition of a page-turner. Jon and Chloe are such memorable characters that their connection surely transcends an earthly story. 

Green by Sam Graham-Felsen

This smart, funny coming of age debut novel is sure to become a classic. Set in the early ‘90s, David Greenfield is in the minority at a school where he is befriended by Marlon Wellings from whom he learns more about the way things are than anything he’ll learn in the classroom . We can’t wait to see what Graham-Felsen will write next!

The Ghost Notebooks by Ben Dolnick

When an opportunity to leave the big city behind presents itself to Nick and Hannah they welcome the move and all of the possibilities it represents. Hannah’s new job as the live-in director of an historic museum houses equal parts history and otherworldliness leading the couple to realize that there’s no outrunning our ghosts.

My Ex-Life by Stephen McCauley

Funny and smart is the best possible combination in a novel and My Ex-Life delivers all that and more. It’s rare that I find myself laughing out loud when reading and if you want a sure-thing read, this one’s for you.

 Alternate Remedies For Loss by Joanna Cantor

There’s no one way to deal with loss as we see in this stunning debut. Young heroine, Olivia, maneuvers the best she can bringing the reader along for quite a ride.